Mobile Hotspot Limits in Malaysia (2026)
Short answer: most Malaysian mobile plans that sell "unlimited" data are unlimited for the phone itself, while hotspot (sharing your data with a laptop or another phone) has its own, smaller quota. On some cheaper plans hotspot simply shares the main data instead. What surprises people most is what happens at the end of that quota: on several plans hotspot is switched off until you buy an add-on, rather than just getting slower.
Hotspot quota by carrier
| Carrier | Plan | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|
| Yes | Yes AI 30 (postpaid) and 5G Advanced Prepaid 30 | 12GB |
| Yes | Infinite Basic / Standard / Premium / Ultra (RM58 / 88 / 118 / 178) | 20GB / 50GB / 80GB / 110GB |
| Yes | Power 35 and 5G Advanced Prepaid 20 | Shared from the main data (150GB and 50GB) |
| Maxis | Postpaid 89 to 199 | Unlimited data, no separate hotspot quota stated; Fair Usage Policy applies |
| Hotlink | Prepaid unlimited internet passes | Depends on the pass; not every pass includes hotspot |
| CelcomDigi | Postpaid 5G 80 / 100 and up (2026) | 600GB / unlimited, one quota for all usage and hotspot; Fair Usage Policy applies |
| U Mobile | ULTRA Prepaid 28 | 5GB, then hotspot is disabled |
| U Mobile | ULTRA Prepaid 38 and 50 | Shared from the main data |
| Unifi Mobile | UNI5G Postpaid 39 / 69 / 99 | Up to 50GB / 500GB / 100GB |
(Checked October 2026 on each carrier's plan pages and terms. Prices exclude tax, promotions change often, and the number in your own carrier app is the one that applies to you.)
Yes
Yes lists a hotspot figure next to every plan. The 5G Advanced plans with uncapped data (Yes AI 30 on postpaid, which Yes currently offers at RM20 a month for the first 6 months, and Prepaid 30) include 12GB of hotspot. The Infinite postpaid plans step up from 20GB on Infinite Basic (RM58) to 50GB, 80GB and 110GB on Standard, Premium and Ultra. Power 35 (150GB) and Prepaid 20 (50GB) have no separate hotspot bucket: hotspot uses the plan's main data.
Yes's prepaid hotspot add-on terms are unusually direct: once the add-on's data is used, you cannot use hotspot or tethering until you buy another hotspot add-on. The terms list options such as 10GB for RM10. Infinite postpaid has its own hotspot add-ons in the MyYes app.
Maxis and Hotlink
Maxis Postpaid 89, 109, 139, 169 and 199 all list unlimited 5G/4G data, and the comparison page does not state a separate hotspot quota. Every plan is subject to the Maxis Fair Usage Policy, which says that if your usage exceeds typical levels, you may receive an SMS or call about it. There is no published number for "typical", so heavy hotspot use on Maxis is mostly a question of how the policy is applied to your line.
On Hotlink prepaid, hotspot depends on the internet pass you buy. Hotlink's own FAQ lists hotspot as not available on some unlimited internet passes, and says speed is capped at 512kbps after a pass's fair usage limit. Check the pass details in the Hotlink app before you rely on it for a laptop.
CelcomDigi
CelcomDigi's Postpaid 5G 2026 product disclosure sheet lists one line for Monthly All Usage Quota and Hotspot: 600GB on Postpaid 5G 80 and unlimited on Postpaid 5G 100, 120, 140, 160 and 190. In other words, hotspot is not split off into a small separate bucket on these plans, but the unlimited quota is subject to CelcomDigi's Fair Usage Policy, and speed can be reduced once you pass it. Older CelcomDigi plans and prepaid passes have their own rules, so check the plan name on your line.
U Mobile
U Mobile's ULTRA Prepaid 28 gives an extra 5GB of high-speed data for hotspot. Its terms say that after the quota is fully used, hotspot usage is disabled. U Mobile lists a 30-day hotspot add-on (RM5) to turn it back on, available in the MyUMobile app or by dialling *118#. On ULTRA Prepaid 38 and 50, hotspot is shared from the plan's base quota instead of a separate bucket.
Unifi Mobile
Unifi Mobile lists hotspot "up to" a fixed amount on each UNI5G postpaid plan: up to 50GB on UNI5G 39, up to 500GB on UNI5G 69 and up to 100GB on UNI5G 99. Note that the RM99 plan has unlimited data but a smaller hotspot cap than the RM69 plan, so if hotspot is what you need, compare the hotspot line rather than the headline data.
How to check your hotspot usage
- Your carrier's app MyYes, the Maxis or Hotlink app, MyCelcomDigi, MyUMobile or the Unifi app show your plan's quotas. Look for a separate hotspot line, not just total data.
- Your phone's own counter On Android, the data usage screen often lists "Hotspot and tethering" as its own entry (menu names vary by manufacturer). On iPhone, go to Settings → Mobile Service and look for Personal Hotspot.
- Your renewal date Note when your plan renews, because that is when a monthly hotspot quota resets.
For a checklist that works with any carrier, see how to check if your hotspot is really unlimited. To estimate how much you actually need, see how much hotspot data do I need?
Your options when hotspot runs out
- Buy a hotspot add-on if your carrier sells one for your plan. This is the simplest fix for a one-off busy month.
- Pick a plan by its hotspot line, not its headline data, if you tether every month. The table above shows how much the hotspot quota can differ between plans with similar prices.
- Wait for the renewal and use Wi-Fi for large downloads and updates until then.
- Cut background data on the laptop: mark the connection as metered and pause cloud sync and automatic updates while it is connected to your phone.
Sharing your phone's data another way
The hotspot quota above applies to the phone's built-in hotspot feature. It is not the only way to share an Android phone's connection: there is also USB, Bluetooth, and apps that share the connection as a proxy over Wi-Fi. We compare them in 5 ways to share your phone's internet with another device.
Tether Link Utility takes the proxy route. Instead of you turning on the hotspot switch, the app sets up its own Wi-Fi connection between the devices and a local SOCKS5 proxy on the phone, and the other device's traffic goes out over the phone's mobile data connection. The data still comes from your mobile line, so check your plan's terms before sharing. Setup guides: Android to Android with a QR code and SOCKS5 proxy on Windows, macOS and iOS.
Sources
- Yes: Postpaid plans (checked Oct 2026)
- Yes: Prepaid plans (checked Oct 2026)
- Yes: Prepaid Hotspot Add-On terms and conditions (checked Oct 2026)
- Maxis: 5G Postpaid plans comparison (checked Oct 2026)
- Hotlink: Unlimited internet pass FAQ (checked Oct 2026)
- CelcomDigi: Postpaid 5G 2026 product disclosure sheet (checked Oct 2026)
- U Mobile: ULTRA Prepaid data plans terms and conditions (checked Oct 2026)
- Unifi Mobile: UNI5G postpaid plans (checked Oct 2026)
Frequently asked questions
Is hotspot unlimited on unlimited plans in Malaysia?
Usually not. Many Malaysian plans give unlimited data on the phone itself but list a separate hotspot quota, such as 12GB on Yes AI 30 and Prepaid 30, 20GB to 110GB on Yes Infinite postpaid, or up to 50GB, 500GB and 100GB on Unifi Mobile UNI5G 39, 69 and 99. Some plans share hotspot from the main data instead, and unlimited data is generally subject to a fair usage policy.
What happens when my hotspot quota runs out?
It depends on the plan. Yes's prepaid hotspot add-on terms say tethering stops once the add-on data is used, and U Mobile's ULTRA Prepaid 28 terms say hotspot usage is disabled after its 5GB quota. On other plans speed is reduced under a fair usage policy. Your plan's terms say which applies.
Can I buy more hotspot data?
Several carriers sell hotspot add-ons. Yes has prepaid hotspot add-ons (its terms list 10GB for RM10, for example) and hotspot add-ons for Infinite postpaid, and U Mobile lists a 30-day hotspot add-on for RM5 on ULTRA Prepaid 28. Prices change, so check the carrier's app before buying.
Does Maxis have a hotspot limit?
Maxis's postpaid comparison page lists unlimited 5G/4G data on Postpaid 89 to 199 and does not state a separate hotspot quota. Usage is subject to Maxis's Fair Usage Policy, and Maxis says you may get an SMS or call if your usage exceeds typical levels. On Hotlink prepaid, hotspot depends on the internet pass.
Does CelcomDigi count hotspot separately?
On CelcomDigi Postpaid 5G 2026, the product disclosure sheet lists one Monthly All Usage Quota and Hotspot: 600GB on Postpaid 5G 80 and unlimited from Postpaid 5G 100 up. The unlimited quota is subject to CelcomDigi's Fair Usage Policy.
Does data shared with another device count toward my plan?
Yes. Whether you use the built-in hotspot, a USB cable or an app that shares your connection over Wi-Fi, the data comes from your mobile line and counts toward your plan. Check your plan's terms before sharing.
Tether Link Utility
An Android app that shares your phone's mobile data with your other devices through a local SOCKS5 proxy. No root, no account, no remote server.
See how it works